SBHA Chapter 11

Chapter 11. Omega Moment

After Yu Ze went back, Qiao Ruo Ming called, as expected. He talked and cried and sobbed as he talked. He had spent so much effort on the party, confessed in public and everything had been fun, but “Second Young Master Song” had quietly left, left him alone at the party, he felt so wronged.

Yu Ze comforted him with a few words, and promised to buy him a gift, whatever Qiao Ruo Ming wanted to pick.

Only then did Qiao Ruo Ming smile through his tears.

He then asked Yu Ze, “You keep saying that you needed rest during this period of time, that you don’t have time to go out to play. But you’re well now, so can we come out more in the future? It’s good to come out for a change of mood.”

“Very soon.” Yu Ze told him.

As soon as he and Song Yan switched their bodies back, everything would be back to normal. But he was cautious by nature and didn’t dare be blindly optimistic, so he only vaguely added that he had to concentrate on work now, as he had set aside company matters at the beginning in order to recuperate.

He thought that after Song Yan switched back, the previous closeness with Qiao Ruo Ming would naturally return. For Qiao Ruo Ming, that would be a pleasant surprise, better in any case than being disappointed after some promise.

The day of the trial drew near. The night before, Yu Ze and Song Yan were both tense. They called each other at the same time, by chance, to encourage the other and to ease the tension, like brothers about to enter battle.

Yu Ze laid on the sofa, turned off all the lights in the room, like this he could see out the wide large windows, see the hazy moonlight like a dance over the tips of the swaying branches.  

Song Yan was talking about his childhood and his older brother, Song Qi, and how willful he used to be, how he gave the whole family a headache.

Even though Song Yan had said he didn’t want him too deep into the Song Family, didn’t want him knowing too much about the Song Family – and he still held to those words even now – he’d already unconsciously revealed a lot of things. Yu Ze even knew that the nanny he had when he was five was surnamed Jin, and that Auntie Jin could manage young Song Yan.

“What was your Omega moment?” Song Yan suddenly asked.

“Omega moment? What do you mean?” Yu Ze asked him in return.

“Don’t you know the saying?” Song Yan explained, “Every Omega has ‘that moment’, the moment of finding out that you are an Omega. Every person has a story of their own. Xiao Qiao told me about his, he……”

Suddenly, he felt that it wasn’t the right time to mention Qiao Ruo Ming and said, “If you don’t want to tell me, there’s no need to tell.

Yu Ze again remembered the Omega scent on Qiao Ruo Ming’s body. He hadn’t mentioned it to Song Yan. Perhaps he’d been mistaken. But even so, that was a matter between Qiao Ruo Ming and Song Yan.

He was silent for a moment, before he began, “I was about fifteen years old……”

Yu Ze blinked, as he was caught in memory.

Song Yan was right, every Omega all had that moment. Upon entering adolescence, every child grew up through anxiety and worry. Betas were relatively calmer, perhaps accompanied by some faint sense of loss. Alphas were happier, but wary of the dangers behind the coming arrogance, or even violence.

As for Omegas, no Omega was ever truly prepared for when their estrus first came.

“It was summer vacation,” Yu Ze said, “I worked in a coffee shop during the day, and at night I went to a theater troupe, played small roles, or some human in the background. I also helped clean and set up the stage. Very tiring. That night, after the stage had ended, I stayed to clean, I thought I was too tired…couldn’t move from the floor of the dressing room…I only realized what was going on after an hour or two? Not sure if I was fortunate that no one was at the theater that night, or if I was unfortunate. Because no one helped me at that time, I was too ashamed to even dare call anyone.”

He paused.

“Then what happened?” Song Yan asked, his voice low.

Yu Ze continued, “I sobered up a bit later on, took off my clothes, changed into a costume from the troupe. I threw my clothing out along the way. I went home, never went to the troupe again, never asked for the salary.”

“I wasn’t fully conscious for the next few days. But the estrus reaction may have been too severe, I was still admitted to the hospital. In addition to the usual symptoms, I felt like I couldn’t breathe, just could not breathe ……”

“So you got asthma? So that’s why you have asthma,” Song Yan asked.

“Yes,” Yu Ze said, “That was my Omega moment.”

Song Yan was silent for a long while, he really had no idea what he should say. He even regretted the question, even had no idea what he himself was thinking about.

“I…” He was at a loss, what was he to say when he couldn’t even make up his mind.

Yu Ze softly laughed. “You don’t have to comfort me. So many years have passed, thinking back now, it really was not anything much. Just going through it for the first time at ten or so years old, it’s easy to feel as if the sky and the earth had turned upside down*. There were many who experienced worse than I had. Still, I was luckier. I am doing what I love to do now – and I’m not talking about using your identity or the Song Family’s company.”

* 天翻地覆 idiom; sky and earth turning upside down; complete confusion; everything turned on its head

“I know what you mean,” Song Yan said.

He then asked, “Is there no cure for your asthma?”

As soon as the question slipped out, he immediately felt that he had asked a stupid question. Yu Ze now already didn’t lack anything, if there was a cure, he’d have been cured long ago.

Sure enough, Yu Ze replied, “I’ve been to many doctors in the past few years, both at home and abroad, in the end, nothing was a cure.”

Song Yan whispered, “I…..you……”.

He was like a robot; stuck, unable to put out a complete and meaningful sentence.

Yu Ze laughed at his reaction, “I didn’t realize you were such a sympathetic person.”

Song Yan seemed confused as well, “The thing is, I’m not, I don’t. I think I rarely feel this strong…..” He didn’t want to say sympathy, much less pity, he simply couldn’t describe it.

Finally frustrated, he said, “Maybe it’s because I’ve been in this body all this time, probably felt sorry for it. If not for all that, the body could be said to be perfect.

“You’re too good at comforting others,” Yu Ze replied.

Song Yan heard the hint of irony, and laughed twice.

They talked for a while longer, only when they finally tired, and when thoughts about the experiment tomorrow were no longer constant on their minds, only then did they hang up the phone.

The next morning, they set out separately and met in the laboratory.

Yu Ze had used his identity as “Second Young Master Song” to make a reservation for the laboratory ahead of time. Even though they had not wanted to alert Song Qi, the man still found out about it.

Song Qi intentionally called that day, he wanted to have dinner with “Song Yan” after the test.

“I don’t know when the experiment will end……” Yu Ze told him over the phone.

“What exactly are you going to experiment?” Song Qi asked, “Why simulate an earthquake environment?” He knew only that his brother had borrowed the laboratory, but not what he wanted to do.

“Something about earthquake environments,” Yu Ze replied.

Somewhat accustomed to his younger brother’s whims, Song Qi only said, “Anyway, I’ll wait for you in the office.

Yu Ze hung up the phone and told Song Yan what happened. Song Yan was full of confidence. “No problem. I’ll go have dinner with him…..later.”

With the help of the laboratory staff, they donned protective suits to protect their vital areas.

For the experiment that day, Song Yan had especially asked the entire lab to sign a confidentiality agreement. No one was allowed to reveal anything to the outside world.

There were also first aid and medical personnel waiting in the lab, so that if anything went wrong, they could be treated immediately.

These were all employees of the Song Family conglomerate, so there was a basic understanding of what type a person Song Yan was. Signing the confidentiality agreement was safer. Even so, Yu Ze was satisfied with Song Yan’s arrangement.

They entered the enclosed cube. The cube was built on a pedestal that simulated the tremors of an earthquake. Those ranging from mild to 7.0 in magnitude could all be simulated. This was originally used to test a product’s resistance to earthquakes.

Song Yan gripped Yu Ze’s hand.

“This is how we shook hands that day,” he said.

Yu Ze loosened his hand a bit, “No, not that tight.”

“Similar enough,” Song Yan said. He gave a signal to the crew outside. The crew pressed the switch and the simulation of an earthquake of the same magnitude as that day began.

The two released their hands. Yu Ze took a few steps back, then suddenly ran at his own body. They both fell. And rolled.

“How was it?” Song Yan asked.

Yu Ze shook his head.

“You hit too lightly!” Song Yan said.

“I did my best!” Yu Ze replied.

Song Yan pressed down on him and whispered into his ear, “Teacher Yu, I know my own body better than anyone! You hit me with less than thirty percent of your strength!”

They rested for five minutes, and then the “earthquake” started again.

This time, Yu Ze was more resolutely heartless, after all this had been bound to happen, might as well get it right in one go. He took a few steps back and with a running start, slammed into Song Yan. This time, he used ten percent of his strength.

And then, there was darkness.

Translator has something to say:
Poor Yu Ze >.< Somebody give him a hug 😦 Tbh, that scene was something that stuck with me after I finished reading the first time. >.< The fear, the panic that Omegas must have? Everyone has their own story; author framed that so well; indeed, everyone in real life has their own story too. 😦

As for me, my laptop broke down yesterday. Thankfully I had uploaded this week’s drafts last minute, but 😦 I’ll try to get the other chapter up asap….but 😦
Week just begun and its so rough already…..T____T

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

6 thoughts on “SBHA Chapter 11

  1. They’re going for the bodies back! Success I hope! tbh, and I speak as someone who doesn’t have asthma, I feel like asthma is not the most pressing thing to get cured, like he still has a fractured collarbone and a concussion and stuff.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started